Commenting on recent findings, LifeWay Research’s Ed Stetzer said, “We found a real openness to hearing about matters of faith, but the study also clearly documents what I call the Oprah-ization of American Christianity. It’s very much a generic ‘big guy in the sky’ view of God and a ‘you believe what you believe, I believe what I believe’ viewpoint on theology. People say, ‘Who am I to judge?’”

This is a huge part of the challenge the church faces today. I still believe that there is a standard for truth and it is the Bible…which is God’s inspired Word. Oprah and others are well-intentioned and they do a lot of good, but this viewpoint of theology is so dangerous.

What scares me is the number of Christians and pastors/ministers that have bought into this idea. It doesn’t matter how sincere individuals are about what they believe if what they believe is untrue. We must continue to proclaim the truth and give biblical definition to the ‘big guy in the sky.’ Sorry, but political correctness is not going to save anyone’s soul.

