Exodus 20:4 “You must not make for yourself an idol of any kind or an image of anything in the heavens or on the earth”

1. We’ve got to deal with what is real.

Galatians 6:7 “A man reaps what he sows”

2. We’ve got to roll with self-control.

I Peter 1:13 So think clearly and exercise self-control.”

Proverbs 25:28 A person without self-control is like a city with broken-down walls.”

3. We’ve got to commit to be legit.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 “Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win!  All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize.  So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing.  I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.”

4. We’ve got to stop before we drop.

2 Peter 2:19-20 “They promise freedom, but they themselves are slaves of sin and corruption. For you are a slave to whatever controls you.  And when people escape from the wickedness of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and then get tangled up and enslaved by sin again, they are worse off than before.”

